top of page

Week 11: The Great Pumpkin Dilemma

This week you guys spent two class days typing your short stories. I have a confession. I walked out of school on Friday and completely forgot to grab your stories to grade.

I considered turning back to go get them, but I was afraid I would set off the school alarm. Plus, if I am being completely honest, I had seen the weekend weather forecast. Like you guys, I wanted to go to a high school football game too. I also wanted to enjoy my children at the pumpkin path rather than staying indoors all weekend grading. This is the balancing act of a teacher: loving other people's children and sacrificing for them without jeopardizing the allegiance and devotion you have to your own children. Even after fifteen years, I still struggle with this battle, but I am keenly aware that at the end of my career, I do not want to look back and realize I poured into other people's children at the expense of my own. So, yes, this weekend I chose the pumpkin patch, and I have no regrets.

Please do not misunderstand. Your short stories are also very important to me. I was so excited to read your topics and introductions last weekend, and I promise I will spend a great deal of time grading this homecoming week and next weekend too. When I do, I know I will be transported to your worlds and remember when I was fourteen and had an English teacher who took the time to read my short story, tell me it was something special, and set my life on a path to do the same for others.

And here is my pledge as well, while I am remembering, I will try to recall that at 14 I had not read as many novels as I have now. My grammar skills were still developing. My vocabulary was limited, and my experiences were minimal.

This does not mean I will set the bar low because my expectations are always high, very high, but it does mean I will aim to be gracious and encouraging, as I realize you all are still very much developing in your abilities. It also means while I am grading, you can bet I am going to be looking for the best pumpkin in the patch to put on display. I sure hope it is yours.

Continuously Carving,

Mrs. Bell

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page