top of page

Week 8: Writer's Showcase (Ainsley Parnell)

This week was filled with Renaissance testing, which is a necessary evil in the world of education, especially when you teach a major content area. Testing can be downright mind numbing at times, which is why I built in a little time for some creative writing when we were in the media center.

After we finished testing, I had you guys read and respond to one of my blogs. It was very cool to see how creative you all could be. Below is one of my favorite responses, even if it did include Alabama football (War Eagle!). I am proud of you, Ainsley Parnell. You should be proud too. My favorite part is the ending. I love the repetition and the fact that you ended with one word. This was just one of the many responses that I loved so much. It is my hope that each of you will develop and grow as writers this year just as we all are. I am really looking forward to reading your short stories very soon.

Fall

By: Ainsley Parnell

Fall; a season that we don’t know too well, since it’s a bajillion degrees year round with a humidity of 95%, even when the temperature gets below 80. Personally, fall is my favorite season because of the warm colors that make me feel cozy, and perhaps a whisper of a high that isn’t in the 90s.

Pumpkin spice, however? Definitely not for me. I blatantly refuse to eat or drink anything that has the Pumpkin Poison in it. No offense to anyone who likes it, but it’s absolutely disgusting. Repulsive, even. I like the idea of pumpkin pie, but it makes me sick to even think about eating it. And also, what’s up with every company in existence, from Starbucks to products that aren’t even edible, using pumpkin spice as a marketing technique? Lattes and candles I can understand; dish soap, I can’t.

October and November also bring football season, which my whole family waits for every year like a kid waits for Christmas. Both of my parents are Alabama graduates (roll tide), and most of my extended family are Bama fans, so Saturday afternoons are pretty much solely devoted to watching the game. I know its football time when my mom pulls out her pom-poms, which she violently shakes at the TV when there is a chance of a touchdown. I swear, I’m not even allowed to walk in front of the TV when the game is on. If you walk into our house, you will notice the plethora of Alabama décor that nobody is allowed to touch because it’s for “decoration”, according to my mom. Honestly, if I ever broke anything, I don’t know for sure that I would still have a home.

To be honest, fall is the only good season because it’s cool enough to wear long sleeves, but not too cold to where I have to wear a 3-layer winter coat. Fall is cardigan season! How do you beat that? Fall fashion is so cute in comparison to summer, where it’s pretty much too hot to be alive. If you have skin attached to your body, that’s too many layers in the summer. Also, the colors red, orange, and yellow are just such good colors; they’re so relaxing and just make me feel so much calmer than the neon colors associated with summer.

Don’t even get me started on the food; dang, it’s good. Halloween? You get candy. Thanksgiving? You get all the good stuff. Turkey and dressing and gravy and green beans and cake and cornbread and sweet tea; everything the heart desires. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it. So, pretty much, in my mind at least, there’s no question about which time of year gets the winner’s trophy. It’s the season with all of the best colors, the best food, and the best style. Fall.

War Eagle,

Mrs. Bell

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page