top of page

Week 1: Here We Go Again

Am I the only person who feels like we never left for the summer? I suspect you guys may feel differently since you are in a different school and a different classroom with different people, but for me, I am in the same room with faces that look relatively similar to last year. Sure, I have new students, but if I am being honest some of the faces and names tend to run together after sixteen years of teaching. This is not to suggest that each of you are in some way less important than the next. It is simply a message to let you know that the mundane becomes mundane for teachers as well.

First day rituals, code of conduct, class survey sheets, syllabus, diagnostic tests, you cannot begin to imagine how many times I have done this. By now, I could go over these items in lengthy detail in my sleep. As a teacher, I know I am supposed to be super enthusiastic the first week, but it is tough when the clerical responsibilities of the first week feel much like canning tomatoes: something that needs to be done in order to have some good meals later but definitely not the most exciting part of my job.

I wish one year I could start with all of the fun stuff and end the year with all the boring stuff: syllabus, code of conduct, etc., but I don't guess that makes much sense. So, I comply and act like reviewing the syllabus is akin to a week in the Bahamas. You guys pretended too. You were all smiles, with lots of heads nodding in agreement. There wasn't a single head on the desk lulled to sleep or a hand trying to hide a phone. I hope it stays this way, but in reality, I know it probably won't because soon you will not be guests in my home. You will be the family that I want you to be because I love you so dearly already. My favorite part was the end of the week when we did the get to know you stations and you all sat at the Meet the Teacher station. I loved getting to talk with each of you one on one and learn what fuels you. I hope you saw me as a person who will always be in your corner. I love you already just because you landed in my room. I am looking forward to a wonderful year. I hope you are too.

Let's Do This,

Mrs. Bell

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page