top of page

Week 31: Happy Birthday Harper


Today we celebrated the life and legacy of Harper Lee. It was a great break from the testing insanity. I was amazed at the truckload of culinary delights you guys brought to honor this literary giant. I am not sure how Harper Lee felt about Doritos, but if she was a fan, she could have had enough Cool Ranch Doritos today to clog an artery.

At the beginning of the party, you all played a quick trivia game, then I read her eulogy to you and let you hear her only recorded interview. Then you guys played some party games and ate and ate and ate. All of this was fun, so much fun, but my favorite part was when it came time for her gifts.

Five people from each class stood and read your favorite quote and told why it was your favorite. You guys made me laugh, Wyn: "Son, where's your pants?" Jayden, "Don't you say hey to me, you ugly little girl." But you also made me proud when you remembered why it was a sin to kill a mockingbird and how losing something really makes you love it.

The last quote is deep on my heart with the approaching end of the school year. I am not ready to give you guys up just yet: morning alarms, yes, but not you guys. It is only as I am looking at the calendar that I am beginning to see that I am getting ready to lose you guys and as she so poignantly stated, "Until I feared I would lose it, I never really loved it."

Thank you guys so much for being troopers this year, always going along with my crazy plans, for smiling along the way, and for making this ol' teacher's heart happy and full again. Friday was a great day for a party, a great day to end the week, and a great day to celebrate my favorite author with my favorite people.

Still Celebrating,

Mrs. Bell

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page