top of page

Week 26: On Top of the World

Spring break is the holiday of all holidays....the one that comes right when you need it the most and says, "Nope. I am not a holiday that other working people get. This one is just for you teachers and students, the people who need and deserve it most. It's your mile marker to let you know the finish line is in plain view"

I wonder what you guys are doing for spring break. I heard about plans for cruises, trips to Disney, and binges with Netflix. I spent a few days of my break in Birmingham with my husband and sons. For Christmas, a friend, who is a former student, now a colleague, and one of my dearest friends bought us tickets to see the Broadway's Lion King in Birmingham. I have been waiting on this trip for a solid three months. It is maybe the sweetest gift I have ever received, although it pales in comparison to the true joy of knowing I have a friend as wonderful as she is.

I hope many of you get the incredible honor of having her as a teacher next year. Her name is Ms. Addison, and I will tell you in advance, she is something else. You will never find a teacher that will love you more than she will, except for me, of course.

Her heart is big, and this gift is just one of the many ways that she gives so freely. Just wait. You will see what I mean.

She and her family sat behind us on the third row. When it comes to the best seats in the house, she means business. My favorite part of the entire show was not the elaborate costumes or the impeccable performances. The best part for me was watching it through my son's eyes as he was sitting in his dad's lap: a real life Simba and Muffasa.

My son was so transfixed and sat enthralled for the entire performance. I imagined how great literature could be for him and others if the written word always remained this mesmerizing. When we got home, he repeated all his favorite lines and reenacted the specific scenes.

Gosh, I do not know if I can make all of you love literature as much as he did this week or even keep him loving it, but I sure would like to give it a try.

I have so many hopes for all of you. Among the greatest, I hope you will read good books, go to the theater often, and have at least one really good friend. If you do, you will be on top of the world like I am this week

Writing from Pride Rock,

Mrs. Bell

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page