top of page

Week 27: Midnight Musings

It is 12:18 a.m. It seems this is the time I do my best or worst writing. I can never really tell which one, until the next day when the clarity of daylight helps me decide if what I wrote was garbage or actually decent. The difference tonight is that I am not writing from a journal in my bedroom but rather publishing for all of my students and the rest of the world. Thank goodness there is an edit button, but here is a promise, I am not going to use it tonight, not this time because I want you to see what raw writing looks like. It's not always pretty and polished, especially after midnight, but it should always be expressive, which is something I saw from you guys in your writer's workshop this past Monday.

I had you guys assume the role of one of the characters from To Kill a Mockingbird. I love that many of you decided to pick a very unconventional character, such as Calpurnia or Miss Maudie. Many of you picked Boo Radley. It was a fairly safe choice. I only gave you ten minutes to write your "I AM" poems, which is not much time I know. That was by design. I wanted you to see that in a short amount of time you can still produce something, but it can always get better, which is why I am going to give you time in class this upcoming Monday to do a rewrite.

I want you to stretch your writing, revise it, expand it, rearrange it. I hope you will let me do the same, as I have clearly butchered the blog this week. Nonetheless, because I asked you guys to write an "I Am" poem I will commit to do the same. It is now 12:26 p.m. I get the same 10 minutes you guys received and time on Monday for a rewrite, fair?

My person is Harper Lee. Here goes.

Nelle

I am an icon or so they say

I wish I had never written this dreaded novel

I wanted to be a writer

I guess I have only myself to blame

I never imagined how it would all turn out

I want all of the questions, stares, and autographs to stop

I am Amassa (A.C.) Lee's Daughter, Alice Lee's sister, friend of Truman Capote.

I put down my pen.

I silence the questions.

I feed the ducks each day. They do not want autographs

I know my time is coming

I understand this nursing home is my Radley House

I want it to be this way

I watch my final Alabama Football game

I say goodbye at last

I am Nelle Harper Lee

It is now 12:37 p.m. I went one minute over the time limit, but I think you would all agree I should get an extra minute since the brain does not function well after midnight.

Full disclaimer: I know my poem needs work, and I am okay with that.

That is why we edit.

Time for Bed,

Mrs. Bell

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page